

(Eighth Parliament - First Session)

No. 234.]

MINUTES OF PARLIAMENT

Wednesday, January 10, 2018 at 10.30 a.m.

PRESENT:

Hon. Karu Jayasuriya, Speaker

Hon. Thilanga Sumathipala, Deputy Speaker and Chairman of Committees

Hon. Ranil Wickremesinghe, Prime Minister and Minister of National Policies and Economic Affairs

Hon. (Mrs.) Thalatha Atukorale, Minister of Foreign Employment and Minister of Justice

Hon. Wajira Abeywardana, Minister of Home Affairs

Hon. John Amaratunga, Minister of Tourism Development and Christian Religious Affairs

Hon. (Dr.) Sarath Amunugama, Minister of Special Assignment

Hon. Gayantha Karunatileka, Minister of Lands and Parliamentary Reforms and the Chief Government Whip

Hon. Akila Viraj Kariyawasam, Minister of Education

Hon. Lakshman Kiriella, Minister of Higher Education and Highways and Leader of the House of Parliament

Hon. Palany Thigambaram, Minister of Hill Country New Villages, Infrastructure and Community Development

Hon. S. B. Nawinne, Minister of Internal Affairs, Wayamba Development and Cultural

Hon. Gamini Jayawickrama Perera, Minister of Sustainable Development and Wildlife and Minister of Buddhasasana

Hon. (Mrs.) Chandrani Bandara, Minister of Women and Child Affairs

Hon. Sagala Ratnayaka, Minister of Law and Order and Southern Development

Hon. Arjuna Ranatunga, Minister of Petroleum Resources Development

Hon. Malik Samarawickrama, Minister of Development Strategies and International Trade

Hon. Mangala Samaraweera, Minister of Finance and Mass Media

Hon. (Dr.) Rajitha Senaratne, Minister of Health, Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine

Hon. D. M. Swaminathan, Minister of Prison Reforms, Rehabilitation, Resettlement and Hindu Religious Affairs

Hon. Rauff Hakeem, Minister of City Planning and Water Supply

Hon. Abdul Haleem, Minister of Post, Postal Services and Muslim Religious Affairs

Hon. Kabir Hashim, Minister of Public Enterprise Development

Hon. P. Harrison, Minister of Rural Economic Affairs

Hon. Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka, Minister of Regional Development

Hon. Piyasena Gamage, State Minister of Law and Order and Southern Development

Hon. A. D. Premadasa, State Minister of Industry and Commerce Affairs

Hon. Palitha Range Bandara, State Minister of Irrigation

Hon. V. S. Radhakrishnan, State Minister of Education

Hon. Eran Wickramaratne, State Minister of Finance

Hon. Ruwan Wijewardene, State Minister of Defence

Hon. Dilip Wedaarachchi, State Minister of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Development

Hon. Sujeewa Senasinghe, State Minister of International Trade

Hon. Lakshman Senewiratne, State Minister of Science, Technology and Research

Hon. M. L. A. M. Hizbullah, State Minister of Rehabilitation and Resettlement

Hon. A. H. M. Fowzie, State Minister of National Integration and Reconciliation

Hon. Ashok Abeysinghe, Deputy Minister of Transport and Civil Aviation

Hon. Lasantha Alagiyawanna, Deputy Minister of Finance and Mass Media

Hon. Dunesh Gankanda, Deputy Minister of Disaster Management

Hon. (Dr.) Harsha De Silva, Deputy Minister of National Policies and Economic Affairs

Hon. Manusha Nanayakkara, Deputy Minister of Foreign Employment

Hon. Karunarathna Paranawithana, Deputy Minister of Skills Development and Vocational Training

Hon. Susantha Punchinilame, Deputy Minister of Public Administration and Management

Hon. Ranjan Ramanayake, Deputy Minister of Social Empowerment, Welfare and Kandyan Heritage

Hon. H. M. M. Harees, Deputy Minister of Sports

(3) M. No. 234

Hon. Hector Appuhamy

Hon. Rohitha Abeygunawardana

Hon. Sisira Kumara Abeysekara

Hon. Thushara Indunil Amarasena

Hon. J. C. Alawathuwala

Hon. Dullas Alahapperuma

Hon. Ananda Aluthgamage

Hon. Mahindananda Aluthgamage

Hon. Ravi Karunanayake

Hon. J. M. Ananda Kumarasiri

Hon. Chandrasiri Gajadeera

Hon. Udaya Prabhath Gammanpila

Hon. Dinesh Gunawardena

Hon. Bandula Gunawardane

Hon. Padma Udhayashantha Gunasekera

Hon. S. M. Chandrasena

Hon. D. V. Chanaka

Hon. Sisira Jayakody

Hon. Nalin Bandara Jayamaha

Hon. Anura Sidney Jayarathne

Hon. Piyankara Jayaratne

Hon. (Dr.) Kavinda Heshan Jayawardana

Hon. Lucky Jayawardana

Hon. K. Thurairetnasingam

Hon. Janaka Bandara Tennakoon

Hon. Arumugan Thondaman

Hon. M. S. Thowfeek

Hon. T. Ranjith De Zoysa

Hon. Anura Dissanayaka

Hon. Mayantha Dissanayake

Hon. Mohamed Navavi

Hon. Vasudeva Nanayakkara

Hon. I. Charles Nirmalanathan

Hon. Buddhika Pathirana

Hon. K. K. Piyadasa

Hon. Sanath Nishantha Perera

Hon. Sujith Sanjaya Perera

(4) M. No. 234

Hon. Arundika Fernando

Hon. Johnston Fernando

Hon. Ashoka Priyantha

Hon. (Mrs.) Hirunika Premachandra

Hon. S. Premarathna

Hon. Bandula Lal Bandarigoda

Hon. Tharaka Balasuriya

Hon. Muhammad Ibrahim Muhammad Mansoor

Hon. S. M. Marikkar

Hon. Imran Maharoof

Hon. Abdullah Mahrooff

Hon. Ajith Mannapperuma

Hon. (Prof.) Ashu Marasinghe

Hon. S. C. Mutukumarana

Hon. Prasanna Ranatunga

Hon. Prasanna Ranaweera

Hon. Keheliya Rambukwella

Hon. Mujibur Rahuman

Hon. Chamal Rajapaksa

Hon. Namal Rajapaksa

Hon. Mahinda Rajapaksa

Hon. Gamini Lokuge

Hon. Janaka Wakkumbura

Hon. (Mrs.) Pavithradevi Wanniarachchi

Hon. A. A. Wijethunga

Hon. (Dr.) (Mrs.) Thusitha Wijemanna

Hon. (Mrs.) Rohini Kumari Wijerathna

Hon. Chaminda Wijesiri

Hon. Duleep Wijesekera

Hon. Kanchana Wijesekara

Hon. Heshan Withanage

Hon. Thenuka Vidanagamage

Hon. Kumara Welgama

Hon. Sandith Samarasinghe

Hon. Rajavarothiam Sampanthan, Leader of the Opposition in Parliament

Hon. Annamalai Nadesu Sivasakthi

Hon. M. A. Sumanthiran

(5) M. No. 234

Hon. Mavai S. Senathirajah

Hon. Sunil Handunnetti

Hon. Wijepala Hettiarachchi

Hon. Indika Anuruddha Herath

Hon. Kanaka Herath

Hon. Vijitha Herath

Mr. Neil Iddawala, Acting Secretary-General of Parliament

Mrs. Kushani Rohanadeera, Assistant Secretary-General

Mr. Tikiri K. Jayathilake, Assistant Secretary-General

Parliament met pursuant to the Notification of Mr. Speaker of 08th January, 2018, under Standing Order No. 14 of the Parliament. The Speaker took the Chair.

- 1. The Acting Secretary-General of Parliament read the following Notification of Mr. Speaker by which the meeting was summoned:-
 - "Convening of the Parliament of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka on Wednesday, 10th January, 2018 at 10.30 a.m.
- I, Karu Jayasuriya, Speaker of Parliament do hereby notify that in pursuance of Standing Order No. 14 of the Standing Orders of Parliament, I have summoned the Parliament to meet on Wednesday the 10th of January, 2018 at 10.30 a.m. having been requested so to do by the Hon. Prime Minister.

KARU JAYASURIYA, Speaker.

Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte, 08th January, 2018."

- 2. Announcements by the Speaker: The Speaker made the following announcement:-
- "I wish to inform that I have endorsed the certificates on the Bills entitled 'Appropriation (Amendment)' and 'Local Authorities Elections (Amendment)' on 14th of December 2017 in terms of the Provisions of Article 79 of the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka."

Suspension of Sitting

11.40 a.m.

The sitting was suspended until 11.52 a.m.

11.52 a.m.

The Sitting was resumed. The Speaker took the Chair.

(6) M. No. 234

3. Business of the Parliament : The Leader of the House of Parliament moved,— That the proceedings be exempted at this day's sitting from the provisions of the Standing Order No. 7 of the Parliament and the motions agreed to by Parliament on 08.03.2016.

Question put, and agreed to.

4. Sittings of the Parliament : The Leader of the House of Parliament moved,— That this Parliament at its rising this day do adjourn until 1.00 p.m. on Tuesday, January 23, 2018.

Question put, and agreed to.

5. Adjournment : The Minister of Higher Education and Highways moved,— That this Parliament do now adjourn.

Question put, and agreed to; the Parliament was at 12.42 p.m. adjourned until 1.00 p.m. on Tuesday, January 23, 2018 pursuant to the Resolution of Parliament of this day.