Felicitating the Hon. Prime Minister for completion of 40 years of his service in Parliament

Date : 04-08-2017

The Hon. Leader of the House of Parliament moved a motion to felicitate the Hon. Ranil Wickremesinghe, the Prime Minister on completion of his continous membership in this August Assemby over a period of 40 years and appreciated the selfless and dedicated service rendered by the Hon. Ranil Wickremesinghe to the country in general and Parliament in particular and conveyed the best wishes to him in all his future endeavours.


This is the first time such a this felicitation session is taking place in this August Assemby. At today’s sitting several party leaders and ministers extended their felicitations to the Hon. Ranil Wickramasinghe, the Prime Minister.


Hon. Ranil Wickremesinghe is a senior politician in the Parliament. He was first elected to Parliament (Second National State Assembly) in 1977 from the Biyagama electorate, and went on to hold several portfolios in his political career. This is the fourth time the Hon. Wickremesinghe holding th Premiership (August 2015 to date). He was the Prime Minister of this country in May 1993 to August 1994, December 2001 to February 2004 and January 2015 to June 2015. At present he holds the ministerial portfolio of National Policies and Economic Affairs. He also held several important ministerial portfolios such as Youth Affairs & Employment, Education, Justice, Industries, Science & Technology, Policy Planning, Economic Affairs, Child, Youth and Cultural Affairs, etc. He was the Leader of the House of Parliament from March 1989 to May 1993 and was the Leader of the Opposition from October 1994 to August 2000, September 2000 to October 2000, October 2000 to October 2001 and April 2004 to April 2010.


Prior to this special Sitting of Parliament, The Secretary-General of Parliament and his staff organised a “Bodhi Pooja” to invoke blessings on the Prime Minister, Hon. Ranil Wickremesinghe was held at the Parliament premises this morning under the guidance of Speaker, Hon. Karu Jayasuriya.


 1 2

 3 4

 5 6



Submit to Delicious Submit to Digg Submit to Facebook Submit to Google Bookmarks Submit to Twitter Submit to LinkedIn

Parliament Calendar

download parliament mobile app

Mailing List Subscription

Copyright © The Parliament of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.

Solution by: Lankacom