Standing Committees (Legislative)

The Committee of Selection, at the commencement of every Session, appoints the Standing Committees. At present the number of members of a Standing Committee is thirty one as decided by the Committee of Selection. The duty of a Standing Committee is limited to the consideration of the Bills/Proposed Statutes referred to it by the Parliament and for that purpose it has the power to send for persons, papers and records. The procedure in Standing Committees is the same as that in the Committee of the Whole Parliament.

Parliament Calendar

download parliament mobile app

Mailing List Subscription

Copyright © The Parliament of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.

Solution by: Lankacom