Business of the House for July 04, 2017

Date : 04-07-2017

The Hon. Karu Jayasuriya, the Speaker took the Chair.

Announcements by the Speaker

‘A’  :  Endorsement of the certificate on a Bill under Article 79 of the Constitution

Presentation of Papers by the Speaker

The Performance Report of the Finance Commission, from 01.01.2017 to 31.03.2017, in terms of Article 41B (6) of the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

Presentation of Papers

Annual Performance Reports of the;

(i) Department of Sri Lanka Railway for the year 2016
(ii) District Secretariat - Galle for the year 2016
(iii) District Secretariat - Kurunegala for the year 2016
(iv) Ministry of Plantation Industries for the year 2016
(v) Ministry of Public Enterprise Development for the year 2016

Annual Reports of the;

(vi) State Pharmaceuticals Manufacturing Corporation of Sri Lanka for the year 2014
(vii) Sri Lanka Sustainable Energy Authority for the year 2013
(viii) HDFC Bank of Sri Lanka for the year 2014

Presentation of Reports from the Committees

(i) Report of the Sectoral Oversight Committee on Health and Human Welfare, Social Empowerment was presented by its Chairman, the Hon. Lucky Jayawardana.

(ii) The Report of the Sectoral Oversight Committee on Legal Affairs (anti-corruption) and Media was presented by its Chairman, the Hon. Ajith Mannapperuma.

(iii) The Report of the Sectoral Oversight Committee on Manufacturing and Services was presented by the Hon. Sandith Samarasinghe, member of the Committee on behalf of the Chairman of the Committee, the Hon. Nalin Bandara Jayamaha.

Presentation of Petitions

(i) Hon. John Amaratunga                   
(ii) Hon. Lasantha Alagiyawanna                   
(iii) Hon. Vidura Wickramanayaka                   
(iv) Hon. Ajith Mannapperuma                -          Two Petitions
(v) Hon. Mayantha Dissanayake
(vi) Hon. (Dr.) Nalinda Jayathissa

(Petition stands referred to the Committee on Public Petitions)

Questions under Standing Order 23(2) of the Parliament

(i) The Hon. Dinesh Gunawardena

Garbage dumping at Muthurajawela area


Hon. Faiszer Musthapha, Minister of Provincial Councils and Local Government replied to the above Question.

(ii) The Hon. Douglas Devananda

Tobacco cultivation in Jaffna area


Hon. Wasantha Aluwihare, State Minister of Agriculture replied to the above Question.

Ministerial Statements

(i) Hon. (Dr.) Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe, Minister of Justice and Minister of Buddhasasana made a Ministerial Statement regarding the newspaper report on the Government involvement with activities of the temples

(ii) Hon. Ravi Karunanayake, Minister of Foreign Affairs made a Ministerial Statement on National Lotteries Board

Private Members’ Bills

The Hon. Anura Sidney Jayarathne was granted leave to introduce the following Bill, entitled

“Bandula Lal Bandarigoda Foundation (Incorporation)”

The above Bill was referred to the Minister of Social Empowerment, Welfare and Kandyan Heritage for report to Parliament under Standing Order 47(5) of the Parliament.

Main Business of the House for Today

Registration of Electors (Special Provisions) Bill

was passed by the House with amendments.

Motion at the Adjournment Time

Motion at the Adjournment Time on “Difficulties faced by youth in Sri Lanka to exercise their universal franchise” was proposed by the Hon. Bimal Rathnayake.

The Parliament was, thereafter adjourned at 1834 Hrs. until 1300 Hrs. on Wednesday 5th July 2017.




*  This is an unedited version. For the official record of this day's proceedings, please refer the Hansard.


Submit to Delicious Submit to Digg Submit to Facebook Submit to Google Bookmarks Submit to Twitter Submit to LinkedIn

Parliament Calendar

download parliament mobile app

Mailing List Subscription

Copyright © The Parliament of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.

Solution by: Lankacom